Skip to Content

ISEA Leaders

President: Tammy Wawro
Tammy Wawro, an educator serving as the resolution Team Facilitator in the Cedar Rapids School District and as the Cedar Rapids Education Association president, was elected the Iowa State Education Association's (ISEA) president in April 2012 by member delegates who attended the ISEA's annual meeting in Des Moines. Tammy has been involved in a variety of Association roles throughout her career, including serving as vice president of the ISEA since 2008. Tammy received National Board Certification in 1999. She received her bachelor's degree in elementary education from the University of Northern Iowa in 1995 and a master's degree in educational technology in 2002.

Nationally, Tammy has been a trainer for the National Education Association's (NEA) Family School Community Partnership and a presenter for the Center for Collaborative Solutions. She was named winner of the Mildred Middleton Mentoring Leadership Award in 2006. Tammy is married with three children.


Executive Director: Mary Jane Cobb
Mary Jane Cobb has devoted her career to advocating for others. As the Director of Cooperative Education at Douglas MacArthur State Technical College she worked with students to find appropriate work-study placements to help launch their careers. She also taught job search skills and was active in the Alabama College and Co-op and Placement Association.

For almost 20 years Mary Jane has been working for educators as an Association staff member. She worked as a UniServ Director with the Alabama Education Association in both rural and urban school settings. She advocated for teachers and education support professionals in the public pre-K- 12 schools, community and technical college faculty, and university support staff. Mary Jane went on to join the staff of the National Education Association where she worked as an Organization Specialist in the Government Relations arena.

Mary Jane assumed the role of Executive Director of the ISEA in 2008.

She holds a Masters degree in Public Administration with course work in education and human resources from Auburn University at Montgomery, in Alabama. Her Bachelor of Arts degree in Government was awarded by Campbell University in North Carolina. She earned a certificate in Organization Development from the National Training Laboratories Institute, a leader in the fields of innovation in organization and leadership development, interpersonal skills and human development, group dynamics, and diversity and inclusion.


Vice President: Mike Beranek
Mike Beranek was elected Vice President of the ISEA in April 2012. A third-grade teacher at Western Hills Elementary School in West Des Moines for 24 years, Mike has served as the ISEA's representative on the NEA Board of Directors since 2009. He's been active in the Asssociation as a member of the ISEA Executive Board, a participant on the Iowa Department of Education Standards and Assessment RrrT subgroup, and numerous other committees. Mike was the proud recipient of The Disney American Teacher Award for 2001, being cited for his innovative classroom projects and activities. He also finds time to be involved in a variety of other professional activities, including serving as project coordinator for developing an innovative teacher preparation program with Iowa State University and the Advisory Board for the ISU Education Department.


ISEA Treasurer: Tom McLaughlin
Tom McLaughlin, a 25-year educator serving as a second term member of the ISEA Executive Board, was elected the ISEA’s Treasurer in May 2013.

Tom has been involved in the Association throughout his career, including serving as NEA’s Fine Arts Caucus National Chair since 2010. Prior to that, Tom served on the NEA Fine Arts Caucus Executive Board, served two terms as the Southwest Uniserv Unit president, and was a two-term UniServ District 114 president in Kansas and the president of KNEA’s Council of UniServ Presidents. Tom also served multiple terms as local president in both his Kansas and Iowa locals, as a chief negotiator, contract maintenance/grievance chair, and in numerous other committee roles at the national, state, and local levels.

Tom served on the NEA Task Force for Arts Education, the Governor’s/ISDOE’s Task Force on Arts and the Common Core, and on the Authors’ Committee for the Kansas State Department of Education. Tom was honored by his colleagues as Kansas State Drama Teacher of the Year.


NEA Director: Joshua Brown
Joshua Brown is a sixth-grade teacher at Goodrell Middle School in Des Moines. He joined ISEA as a student member and has remained active in a wide variety of roles at the local, state, and national levels. Josh was elected as one of Iowa's NEA Directors in April 2013 and is looking forward to serving the members and students of Iowa in his new role. Josh set up a Facebook page to seek input, call people to action, and highlight issues and topics of importance to members and students--visit it at



Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard